Skip directly to: Navigation for this section | Main page content

Bioinstrumentation and BioMEMS Laboratory

Prof. Cristina Davis

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

University of California, Davis

Prof. Cristina Davis

Spotlight box

  • Doctoral student Leslie Simms selected for the prestigious Floyd and Mary Schwall Fellowship in Medical Research.
  • Former doctoral student Konstantin Zamuruyev was awarded the UC Davis Graduate Studies 2019 College of Engineering Zuhair Munir Best Dissertation.
  • Prof. Davis to be inducted as 2019 Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
  • Prof. Davis to be inducted as 2019 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

Background and Interests

Dr. Cristina Davis is currently a Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of California, Davis. Her main research interests are in chemical and biological sensing applications, use of technology to speed biomarker discovery, novel bioMEMS devices, and bioinformatics interpretation of sensor output.


1990-1994   B.S. Mathematics and Biology (double major), Duke University (Durham, NC)
1994-1999   Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, VA)
1999-2001   Postdoctoral Fellowship, Physiology and Electrical Engineering (joint), The Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD)

Positions and Appointments

2001-2002   Senior Scientist, Molecular Devices Corporation (Epalinges, Switzerland)
2001-2002   Visiting Scientist, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Lausanne, Switzerland)
2002-2005   The Charles Stark Draper Laboratory (Cambridge, MA)
2002-2004           Senior Member of the Technical Staff, MEMS Microsystems Group
2004-2005           Principal Member of the Technical Staff
2004-2005           Group Leader Bioengineering, founding member
2005-           University of California, Davis (Davis, CA)
2005-2010           Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2010-2012           Associate Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2012-                  Full Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2010-2018                 Associate Director, NIH NCATS Clinical and Translational Sciences Center, School of Medicine
2011-2012           UC Davis campus-wide Leadership Program for Department Chairs
2012-2014           Faculty Research Mentor, Computing Research Experiences for STEM Teachers (CREST)
2012-2019           Faculty Research Mentor, Beckman Scholars Program Award for undergraduate research
2014-                  Member, Advisory Group for the Innovation Institute for Food and Health
2016                   Director, Center for Nano and Micro Manufacturing (CNM2)
2017-2019           Vice Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2019-2021           Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2021-2022           Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
2022-2027           Associate Vice Chancellor for Interdisciplinary Research and Strategic Initiatives
2007-2010   Participating Guest Researcher, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (Livermore, CA)
2007-2014   Associate Editor, Journal of Sensors
2013-2020   Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Breath Research
2014           Visiting Professor, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Lausanne, Switzerland)
2014-2018   Member, United States Air Force Scientific Advisory Board
2014-          Scientific Advisor, SensIT Ventures, Inc.
2014-2020   Scientific Advisor, XTB Laboratories, Inc.
2018-           Member, Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group (ISTEG)
                        which is administered by the Intelligence Community Studies Board (ICSB) of the National Academies
2020-          Associate Editor, Journal of Breath Research
2021-           Member, Standing Committee on Biotechnology Capabilities and National Security Needs,
                        Division on Earth and Life Studies, the National Academies

Awards and Honors

1990-1991   William A. Blees Foundation Scholarship, while at Duke University
1991            National Science Foundation, Summer Research Fellowship (Temple University)
1996-1999   National Institutes of Health, Pre-doctoral Cardiovascular Training Grant (University of Virginia)
2000-2001   Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Postdoctoral Fellowship (The Johns Hopkins University)
2007            Award, Outstanding Service as a Competition Judge, The Siemens Foundation and The College Board (Princeton, NJ)
2008            Selected for the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative
2008            Best Patent Award, The Charles Stark Draper Laboratory (for US Patent #7,388,195)
2008            Invited Visiting Professor, Universidad de Nevarra, Máster Oficial en Ingeniería Biomédica (summers of 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011)
2009            Supernumerary Professor, Universidad de Nevarra (San Sebastián, Spain)
2009            Selected to participate in the "MNS Horizons 2040" workshop organized by the National Science Foundation,
                        to prioritize funding priorities for micro/nano research for the upcoming 30 years
2011            Fellow, The Hartwell Foundation (class of 2010)
2011            Selected for National Academy of Engineering (NAE), 17th Annual Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) Symposium
2012            Award, Outstanding Service as a Competition Judge, The Siemens Foundation and The College Board (Princeton, NJ)
2013            Finalist for the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), Award for Innovative Institutional Partnerships
                        in Research and Research-Focused Training. Joint submission with Dr. Nicholas J. Kenyon (School of Medicine)
2014            Invited Speaker, National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Regional Meeting (Davis, CA)
2016            Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
2016            UC Davis Chancellor's Innovation Award
2016            Best Newcomer Award for the World Agri-tech Investment Summit
2016            Ideas Energized Award by the Larta Institute
2017            Sacramento Region Innovation Award for Food & Agribusiness
2018            UC Davis College of Engineering Outstanding Mid Career Faculty Award
2018            Department of the Air Force, Commander's Public Service Award
2019            UC Davis Distinguished Scholarly Public Service Award (DSPSA)
2019-2021   Warren and Leta Geidt Endowed Professor
2019            Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
2019            Fellow, National Academy of Inventors (NAI)